When Life Gives You Lemons, Make Lemon Cherry Cheesecake Pie

I love a cold glass of lemonade just as much as the next gal, but sometimes we need to create something with a little bit more pizazz. I came across this recipe while searching for something different to bake for an upcoming barbecue in the park. We’ll give it a test try for Labor Day, but until then…

 

Turn your sour moments into sweet, rich, delectable ones!

 

The daughter of a good friend of mine is having a baby. She was registered at Target so I ventured there early on a Saturday morning. There was nothing unusual about the day. I was feeling pretty good. I printed her list of desired gifts and headed to the baby section. My eyes panned over the bottles, bottle warmers, pacifiers, receiving blankets, and the Winnie the Pooh everything else. Then it happened…

 

In an instant, a river of tears fell down my face and nearly soaked the printed registry in my hand. You should have seen me! I’m speedily wiping tears away and looking around to see if anyone is watching from a distance. I was in shock to feel myself feeling this way. I desire children of my own, but usually I’m pretty cool about it. But I promise I could almost hear that Winnie the Pooh pacifier shout, “You’re in your thirties and you’re running out of time!!!!!!!!!” I never was a big fan of Winnie the Pooh. (Smile)

 

I praise God for the faith He has given me and the drive to make Lemon Cherry Cheesecake pie out of Lemons. I didn’t always have that drive. There was a time when I would have moped for days and complained to anyone who would listen. But last I checked moping can’t get you pregnant and constant complaining makes people hate you. Okay maybe they won’t hate you, but don’t look for an invite to the next girls night out.

 

I decided to do something with this motherly love that was in need to get out that day. I’d made plans to lead a retreat for a group of teens, so I put together some little gifts that would lift them up and let them know how much I truly loved them. It made me feel whole and made them feel loved.

 

So don’t bind up that motherly love and ache because you don’t have your own to give it to. Give that love away freely with joy. There are so many children out there who don’t have a mother’s love. Pour your love into them. Spend time with those precious little nieces, nephews and cousins. Be a mentor and a motivator to a young girl. When life hands you lemons, don’t settle for lemonade! Go over the top for yourself and for others.

 

I can walk down aisle six of Target and smile, knowing that I am preparing myself to be a great mommy!

 

Oh…if you want that recipe for Lemon Cherry Cheesecake pie, check it out here! – http://southernfood.about.com/od/lemonpierecipes/r/bl30609e.htm

Leave a Reply

