A Single Woman and a Bridal Show

Most women day dream about their wedding as little girls. The princess gown, fragrant flowers, favorite colors, and the dance with daddy, are wedding events most have rehearsed over and over again in the mind. Oh, did I forget to mention the dashing, gorgeous groom, who turned out to be the king of a wealthy African nation? Okay, maybe that was just my dream. And yes, I watched “Coming to America” one too many times.

Other than the actual proposal, nothing triggers these childhood dreams more than when the largest bridal show of the season comes to a town near you. The bridal show ads are everywhere. They’re on huge billboards along major interstates and even on the side of your profile on Facebook.

So should you go if you’re….you know….still single?

I haven’t done an official poll, but please feel free to comment and leave your opinion. Many will tell you to stay home, join eHarmony, and if all goes well, come back next year. You also won’t find many wedding vendors desiring to spend precious time with wannabe brides.

But I say if you’re interested and you think you’ll have a good time, “GO!”

I’ve attended two bridal shows in my lifetime, and I did so very unengaged and boyfriend-less. I thought by chance it may send me spirally down into an abyss of sadness, but I ended up having a great time! After the first show I even considered changing my career and becoming a wedding planner. The shows were exciting, entertaining, and broadened my wedding day vision horizons.

If you do attend, it’s crucial you be upfront and honest with vendors. They are there to make a sale and not play into wedding fantasies. Don’t lead vendors to believe you’ll buy their product or service unless you really plan on doing so. Yes, many women purchase gowns, shoes, veils, and so on, before they find their groom. Especially if they’re getting a great deal!

Both trips to the bridal show left me feeling optimistic and hopeful about planning my wedding in the future. Plus I’m a faith lady. I’ve always believed that God had that special someone out there just for me. So why not make some preparations?

I had fun with my girls, received great free gifts, became informed on planning and budgeting, and relaxed in a Hummer limousine. The fashion shows were extravagant and electrifying. I loved watching the children walk the runway in their little tuxes and flower girl attire. Sooooo cute!!!! Brides-to-be and bridal party members were buzzing around the convention center with great expectations. I’ve never seen so many giggly happy women. It was a hoot. Yes, a hoot. I really can’t think of a better word.

Women of all ages, races, and economic backgrounds joined together to make the little girl dream become a reality. All for about $10 a ticket.

When the day was done, I stored away all my goodies from the event and went back to my wonderful single life. When God changes my course in life, I’ll pull out my goodies and let the planning begin. I just hope after all this time some of those vendors are still in business!

Keep smiling single women of the most high God! God’s blessing is on the way!

Love your sister,

Miss Love In Waiting

7 thoughts on “A Single Woman and a Bridal Show

    1. Thank you for subscribing to the blog! I hope for many things regarding the future. I’m considering taking many points and thoughts from the blog and writing a singles devotional for women. I love writing in general and am working on a stage play now also. Keep reading and feel free to share your opinions…and please share with others you feel may enjoy these topics. Thanks!

  1. Great article. There’s a lot of good info here, though I did want to let you know something – I am running Ubuntu with the up-to-date beta of Firefox, and the look and feel of your blog is kind of flaky for me. I can understand the articles, but the navigation doesn’t function so great.

  2. Dear Ms Love in Waiting:
    I really enjoyed reading this. This is such an encouragement to anyone waiting. I think this is liken to the BRIDE of CHRIST. We look forward to MARRYING JESUS (i.e. the Second Coming) – therefore we PREPARE OURSELVES now. Love your writing style – You ROCK! 😀

Leave a Reply

