Ouch! That Hurt!

As a single woman I’ve suffered from the following aches and pains:

And it’s okay…you can smile.

  • Your biological clock is ticking while your high school friend’s oldest son prepares for college.
  • Your thirty-something and still not quite sure where to put your hands when holding a baby.
  • Someone calls you an old maid and later that evening you find a new wrinkle.
  • Your nineteen year old cousin asks, “Remember when I was little and you asked me to be your flower girl?”
  • People assume that there must be something wrong with YOU. You explain that it’s not your fault. They don’t believe you.
  • You tell friends and family that you have a new boyfriend and they rejoice like you’ve just won the publishers clearance house sweepstakes. As if the odds were that much against you.
  • Over the years you’ve caught your fair share of bridal bouquets. So now when a bride tosses the bouquet to the single ladies, you go for another piece of cake instead.

Think I’m making this stuff up? (Smile) Praise God I can laugh about it now.

Every now and then being single may be painful. But I had to keep in mind that being single is as challenging as I’ve allowed it to be. All those things listed above are part of my “single” story. Sometimes I chose to laugh and sometimes I chose to pout; even though none was really more tragic than the other (except maybe the wrinkle thing). Writing about them now tickles me and with some tweaking could be great material for a late night talk show monologue. However, my main point is that it’s up to us individually to create enough joy in our life that it heals the stings, pinches, and pains aimed at our heart (and ego).

Translate from being pathetically single to being single with a purpose!

Jump in the deep end of your gifts and talents. Gain strength and confidence in who God is and who He has created you to be. It matters less what others think about your situation and more how God has your situation under control.

Sometimes I just look to the heavens and say, “Okay, Lord…here I am. I don’t know how and I don’t know when, but I’m determined to trust in You. You know my need. You know the desires of my heart. I will be grateful because many would love to be in my shoes today. I am blessed and I’m surrounded by friends and family who love me. ” Let God know how much you appreciate what He’s already done in your life. Count those blessings and the aches of singleness will fade and heal. Besides thanks and appreciation makes room for more blessings!

Thanks for sharing a few laughs with me this post.

Subscribe. Leave a comment. Let’s network!

Yours in Christ,

Miss Love In Waiting

8 thoughts on “Ouch! That Hurt!

  1. Being single is not always a choice, though we can make the best use of the experience.
    I am a single man in my early 40s. I have a few friends who are in similar situation. I love God, I have a good job and I believe I am a responsible person. Most importantly, I am looking for a God-given wife at this time.
    When I contemplate why I haven’t been married, I see that the reasons are simple. It is not that finding a good woman is that hard, but rather, I have missed many opportunities, had unrealistic expectations, or simply did not plan well in advance. I have now learned from those mistakes and trusting that I will find the woman of my dreams soon.
    I think if we all look back, we may be able to see where we have missed it. Some sisters, like me, have unrealistic expectations, or maybe due to wrong teachings, do not present themselves well to the opposite sex. For instance, men are very visual; they simply don’t pursue a woman they don’t find attractive. I think Christian sisters can make it easier for Christian men to pursue them if they do a better job of presenting themselves.

    1. Excellent points…We can hinder our blessings because of choices we make. Many times I’ve wondered if I could have been married already if I had done this instead of that. May we allow the Spirit of the Lord to lead us in the ways we should go. God bless and thank you for reading!

  2. Hi, I am a teenage homeschooler who is striving to wait and save my heart for my future husband. I have many friends who are boys my age and also saving their heart for their future wife.

    My question is: Do think that christian boys and girls can become good friends and still stay pure???

    ~Miranda

    1. I know many teens who are good friends with the opposite sex and have remained pure…Praise God! 🙂 However, becoming very close friends with a boy may not be recommended depending on the spiritual mind of that boy and/or girl. Are they walking in the spirit everyday? Have they made their convictions clear to each other? Have they set clear boundaries within their friendship so temptation does not become an issue. Setting boundaries and clearly defining what you want and don’t want out of the friendship is important.

      Keep in mind this is my opinion and based on my experience. I would highly suggest talking with your parents and church leaders…people you can trust.

      God bless ya Miranda and stay in touch!

      – Candra

      1. Thanks, Candra! I appreciate you answering my question! In my particular situation i have a boy that is a good friend to me, but like you said both my parents, his parents, and him and i have set boundaries for our friendship. And since we have those boundaries it makes it a lot easier to be friends.

        I mean, its not always perfect and sometimes i struggle with temptation but over all with his and my parents being our accountability it makes it much easier and more comfortable to be around him.

        I love your blog and i think you are glorifing God greatly through it!! Feel free to check my blog out. http://www.randi-travelnotes.blogspot.com

        Thanks again,
        ~Miranda

  3. Wow this is a great post. It really gives me something to think about. Thanks for posting.

    P.S. Come join the Women of God Who Blog network at http://womenofGodwhoblog.ning.com and share with any woman of God who blogs that you know 🙂

    Keep up the great work,
    Audrey
    @GGGirlBlog

Leave a Reply

