Loving Me Means Loving You

I’m a firm believer that if you can’t be good TO yourself, you won’t be good FOR anybody else.  I often ask the question, “Why did it take so long for me to find love?” I could speculate on the answers all day. But one thing I know for sure is that the love I had for myself wasn’t enough. It wasn’t enough to spill over into somebody else.

This has nothing to do with conceit or vanity. How many women have put themselves on the bottom of their to-do list? They go from early in the morning to late in the evening serving their families, bosses, and community. But at some point in the midst of their service, they need to love themselves enough to refuel. No one else can do it for her.

If she doesn’t care about herself or if she doesn’t think she’s worth it, she’ll go down in flames. And heaven help all those that depend on her.

Many times in my life I stretched myself too thin; never knew how to say no. In my mind, if I did all I could then I would win the love of people. That was to be my only resource for love. As you can imagine I was greatly disappointed. My motives were misguided. I should have given without looking for anything in return. I was investing care in others looking for a return in love, but the return didn’t always find its way back to me. And as expected, I went down in flames.

The love I desired was already inside of me. It was a gift from God that I neglected to open for pretty much most of my life. Through the Word of God, I read that I was fearfully and wonderfully made. No, I don’t look like Miss Universe. Nope, can’t sing like Yolanda Adams. Oprah Winfrey would chuckle at my checking account. And I’ll probably never have abs like Shelly from the Taebo videos. (Smile) But this I know…there is no one else in the world like me. There is no one else in the world like you.

It’s not the end of my world if I’m ignored or forgotten because other people’s actions don’t validate who I am. For crying out loud, Jesus loves me! Does it get any better than that? (Smile)

Loving me means doing what is best for me and making right decisions for my life. Loving me means eating better, exercising, praying, and keeping my house in order. I am motivated to do for others with joy, because I’m fueled up with love! The levels that I will love my husband will be off the charts!

I won’t need to drain him of all his strength, because I have my own. We’ll balance each other, not complete each other.

Even with all my shortcomings, I love who I am and feel confident in the woman that God has created me to be. There is an endless resource of love inside of me imparted straight from God. I can pour that love into others day after day and never be depleted.

An endless well of waters flowing and flowing…

Loving me, means loving you.

Miss Love in Waiting

http://sufficientgrace.org

2 thoughts on “Loving Me Means Loving You

  1. Pingback: Dating East Texas
  2. Pingback: Dating East Texas

Leave a Reply

