Please Believe My Report

My situation was probably nothing like most of you. I first desired to be married and have a family in my early twenties. That seems to be about the norm of when most couples meet, fall in love, and marry. However, for me, I will be wed at the tender age of thirty-six. Men of all kinds came and went, but the right man of God was delayed. I wasn’t sure why and I wasn’t always happy about it. So I can certainly relate to the pains of loneliness, rejection, feeling like an outsider, and so on.

But I took the following advice and I have never been happier. When I look back on how I could have done things differently, there is no way I could have ever been as happy as I am right now. I would have been married praying to be single, instead of being single praying to be married. You tell me. Which is worse?

How do I get the best results?

Wait and Yield.

Wait – to be postponed or delayed

Yield – to give up, to a superior power

The advice we would rather receive is just do it. You take control. Do what feels right. But how many times have we made our lives more complicated by this risky guidance? In waiting and yielding to God, I found that the joys of life come with no sorrow with it. When I wait and yield to Him, I don’t have to pay a price for pleasure. There is no consequence or detrimental side effect when God gives the blessing verses me going out and doing whatever I think is good for me. 

I am fallible. I have picked up the television remote to make a phone call. Should I put all my trust in myself to find the man I will be married to until death? No thanks.

I realize that there are those who would rather be in a mundane or damaging relationship than wait for the right relationship to come along. After all, who wants to be a single parent? Who wants to face the challenges of growing older alone? Who wants to face a struggling economy without help? And what about that biological clock that seems to be running so fast that it is leaving your dream of parenthood in the dust?  

This is where you really have to open your heart and believe…

Wait and Yield.

There are other solutions to the struggles we face as singles. Venturing into a relationship just so you can say that you have someone is not one of those solutions. It may multiply the struggle…at least by two. I am writing this blog because I want to share what worked for me. I am engaged to be married now, but before I met my fiancé, I found relief in waiting on God. He has always answered my prayers before. I found comfort in yielding myself to the One who created the heavens and the earth. Surely He could take care of me.

The temptation was great to jump into a relationship just for the sake of being a girlfriend or wife. But my faith in God would not fail. I knew that if I waited and held on to my dreams, He would send me the best. So I made a decision to be grateful and enjoy my life. I made a decision to enjoy the liberty that came with being single. I developed deeper relationships with my family, friends, God, and myself. I discovered my own gifts and talents I never knew were inside. I set personal goals that would help me find success in life and marriage.

I kept company with people that made me laugh until I cried. I sought new adventures and challenged my courage.

 Suddenly being single wasn’t so bad.

 

Please believe my report….

I am engaged. That in itself is a huge blessing. This is what I have been waiting for. But because we waited, we are experiencing more in our relationship than what we prayed for. God knew every detail of what would make us truly happy. God knew better than we did! We make plans to proceed in our relationship like a normal couple, but it almost never works out that way. God keeps giving us more. So many times we look at each other in complete amazement because God keeps giving us the unexpected. It’s like God shakes big bits of benefits and extra goodness over everything we do. (Smile)

Waiting and yielding to God was the best advice for me. And these principles can be applied in every area of our life. Things work out better every single time without fail. God is infallible!

Please believe my report.

Waiting and yielding still,

Candra

http://ronandcandra.brides.com

2 thoughts on “Please Believe My Report

Leave a Reply

