Looking for Love Online

An online dating site advertises that 1 out of 5 relationships begin online. Our world has come a long way when it comes to this once scandalous way of getting a date.  Some still believe that finding love online is disreputable and incomprehensible. Others are stepping outside the box, taking the plunge, and venturing into the mysterious arena of online dating. The fact is, people of all ages, nationalities, and religious beliefs are trying it at least once.

And in spite of my own apprehensions, my curiosity got the best of me. I’m guilty. I tried it for myself. I found it to be annoying, impersonal, costly, and there was little opportunity for any real connection. But that doesn’t mean that it can’t work for others.

So what can I share from my experience in case you get bit by the curiosity bug?

Well…..

Privacy Matters – I enjoy social media in general. Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, Podbean, and Ning are just a few of my favorites. However, I believe some anonymity is good. Even if you are on a secure site, you have to stay on guard for the bad guys & gals that mean you no good. Unfortunately there are users who are not who they claim to be. Don’t forget this as you are meeting new people. Protect yourself.

Specialty Sites – I searched on what I call “specialty sites”. (I’m sure there is a more correct term.) There were sites out there that catered to my specific interests. For example, my faith is Apostolic and through search engines and word of mouth I found a few Apostolic only sites. These kinds of networking sites will keep you from filtering through tens of thousands of people that you have little in common with. Networks exist for those of a certain age, who participate in certain hobbies, and based on various life experiences and interest.

Pray first – Pray first. 😉

Don’t let it linger – After you begin communicating with someone, end the communication as soon as you know that you do not want to proceed further. Even online it’s not kind to string someone along. That person may be 300 miles away, but remember that it is still a human being on the other end of the email. Be clear and courteous.

If it doesn’t work, it’s okay – It can mess with your mind when you meet one person after another, after another, after another, and still walk away single.  But understand that in spite of the commercials where couples are walking on the beach flashing their wedding rings,

…online dating is not magic.

It seems to work the same as old fashioned dating. It takes work and time. Never get discouraged about it. Besides, you may find new friends or associates that will benefit your life in other ways. I did!

Tell the truth – Not everyone online does. This is a huge annoyance with online dating. If you are 5’2”, don’t say your 6’2”. Someone out there is looking for someone who is 5’2”! 🙂

Make is secondary – I wouldn’t solely depend on online dating when looking for love. As a matter of fact I’m not sure I would even make it secondary. First, seek God. Pray. Plus, there’s nothing like placing yourself in a position to meet people in person. Get involved in church activities, volunteer, play sports, hang out with friends.

If you are looking for love, make it known offline too!

Your family, church congregation and friends can probably do as well a job, if not better, matching you up with someone. And never forget that God is in control. We just never know how He will move and bless in our lives, so above all else, keep trusting Him.

There’s more I could share. Perhaps there will be a part two to this blog. In the meantime, thank you for reading and feel free to comment.

Has online dating worked for you?

Miss Love in Waiting

How my husband and I met – http://ronandcandra.brides.com

Leave a Reply

