Deck Eleven

On deck eleven I knew it was all worth it. There were reasons for the wait. There were reasons why God saw fit that I marry later in life. It will all be realized by and by, but more of waiting’s purpose became manifest in my heart, on the open sea, on deck eleven.

Deck Eleven

We embraced there. We kissed there. We held hands and looked into each others eyes there. We reclined in the deck chairs closing our eyes, soaking in refreshing winds blowing from the sea. We opened our eyes towards the night sky filled with distant lights. We shared visions of shooting stars and we worshiped God there. For these pleasures, perfectly orchestrated by God, the timing had to be right.

On deck eleven there were no regrets. There was no sorrow, no alarm, and no looking back. Because God did this, every aspect of our relationship over the last two years has surpassed our hopes and dreams. On deck eleven I could not feel the old wounds of sorrow and weariness because this blessing was God’s doing according to His will, not mine.

Joy comes in the morning and all that was of a troubled night fades away forever.

Those moments on deck eleven, the first night of our honeymoon cruise, were already making up for fifteen years of waiting. The strength of our love surrounded by the grace and love of God affirmed our faith. We knew we did the right thing by waiting until God said yes.

God told me He would bless me to be married. He told me not to be hasty. He told me not to succumb to the pressure of desperation. He impressed on my mind to wait. It didn’t matter what people said. It didn’t matter that I would marry many years after it was promised. I believed. And when I thought I could not hold on to my faith, God’s grace helped me to believe still.

I knew my husband was out there somewhere. I knew romantic and unconditional love was out there somewhere. I knew marriage and friendship was out there somewhere.

Years of waiting…years of praying…years of praising and rejoicing in the Lord…years of faith and contentment…

Then suddenly…

There it all was…on deck eleven.

Mrs. Candra (Love in Waiting) Evans

15 thoughts on “Deck Eleven

  1. Waiting, sometimes is one of the hardest things to do, and you are a prime example that waiting on the Lord pays off in the end and can bring about beautiful new beginnings! I wish you well and much happiness! I wish you were my friend when I was growing up and maybe my outcome would have been different, but all of our lives are predestined and I thank God for the experiences! I love reading your blogs and the strength that it teaches! May God forever bless you and your new Union! Hugs!

    1. God bless you Helen! Yes, God has a purpose and plan for all of us. It’s up to us to simply submit and say, “yes, Lord”. I sometimes fight against the plan because I don’t understand but as I get older, I get wiser. I realize His way is perfect and His grace is sufficient for me. Love you!

  2. Amen! I am literally crying from this post. I really needed to read this right at this very moment because I long for romantic love some day and sometimes I doubt that the Lord will grant me this desire or that He will make me wait too long and I will somehow miss my chance. I’ve been pretty discouraged lately because He has clearly said “NO” to someone I feel very strongly about. It is tremendously encouraging to know that He doesn’t say “NO” for no reason, He’s got incredible plans and those plans are WORTH the wait. Thank you so much for writing this! =)

    1. Thank you so much for reading! 🙂 That’s amazing that we (and many others) have such similar feelings. I was so stressed out about the timing issue. I thought I would be too old. And before I met my husband I thought I found “the one”, but God wouldn’t let the relationship grow. I remember feeling frustrated and deeply sad. I thought strongly about giving up and going against God’s will, but His grace just wouldn’t let me go. I’m so grateful for that! God is keeping you strong and safe in Him. So much so that you know when God is speaking to you. That in itself is something to greatly rejoice over! That shows you have a close relationship with God (something not everyone has), and that He loves you so much! I tried to think about that while I was single…how much God loves me. It gave me courage to walk by faith. And like you said, He has INCREDIBLE plans for you! God bless!

  3. I am so encouraged! I love reading your posts and I am extremely grateful that God’s promise for you has been fulfilled… I have no doubt that so much more lies ahead! Congrats to you and your husband… I wish you both many years of love, joy, and peace!
    PS- You shared my blog on your website a while back and I sooo appreciate it! I failed to renew my domain so my blog can now be found at myheartmake.blogspot.com 🙂

  4. You are very welcome! There’s one thing I was wondering… how exactly did you KNOW he was the one after all the years of waiting? I’ve kept up with your blog regularly since my 1st time reading but I don’t recall you telling about the moment you knew your waiting was over.

  5. I love this blog, a perfect place for women to encourage one another! That is exactly what I’m about, please check out my book, “Journey to Destiny, Traveling Through Infertility”! Don’t miss this emotional and devastating account of a young woman experiencing infertility. I use a “no hold bars” approach in navigating the world through the high and lows of infertility or any hardship! Purchase your copy today ladies at iUniverse.com; Barnes and Noble.com; Amazon.com; and http://www.poeticphilosophy.com! You will cry tears of sadness and joy!

  6. I know God will bless you dear. You are sharing your testimony and uplifting so many single Christian women. You are using the gifts He gave you. Amen! Many people forget their process or journey. However, you remembered those that are still going through the challenges. YES, singleness is an amazing phase, but God wants more. Thank you for being His instrument. I pray that God rewards your faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

