First Guest Blog Post at Love and Grace…Have you subscribed yet?

If you haven’t subscribed to Love and Grace Media for Christian Singles, do so today. Receive the first notice when new blogs and videos are posted.

 

The Problem with “Waiting” to Get Married

I’m not sure when I decided that my singleness wasn’t such a bad thing.

Truth be told, I’ve never really given up wishing and hoping and thinking and praying that one day I’ll get married. I want to know what it’s like to share my life with someone. To gripe about whose turn it is to take out the trash or who lost the car keys…again. To buy two concert tickets instead of one or to book a King-sized hotel bed instead of doubles. To cook a dinner and have no leftovers or to have someone tell me that I don’t need to buy another handbag because I could spend my money more wisely…

All joking aside, I long to be a part of a God-glorifying union that points others to Christ. To have someone know me intimately and to know them in the same way. To be a part of the kind of love that can only develop over years of commitment and trial and error. I ache for that in the deep places of my soul, in ways that the English language is limited in expressing.

But somewhere along the way, my focus shifted. I stopped feeling incomplete or inadequate and no longer felt like the story of my life would reach its climax when I finally married.

I guess you could say that I started living.

While I’m not one to believe that there is a 4-step process to curing discontent, when I reflect on how I got to this place, I can pinpoint 4 things that I believe changed my discontent to acceptance—dare I say, contentment—in this lot of mine….

Read More….

Published today on Love and Grace….A guest blog post written by Jennifer Bufkin from SingleRoots!

Leave a Reply

