Fruitful Forgiveness

Fruitful ForgivenessThe lesson of forgiveness keeps ringing in my ears.  Everywhere I go, it is the topic of the hour.  Perhaps God is trying to tell me something.  As Christians we can not grow and bear fruit without truly forgiving those who have transgressed against us.

Sometimes we are not aware of unforgiveness that still lives in our heart.  It lies dormant for awhile, but suddenly the sound of someone’s name can stir up tremors in our soul.  Unsure of the stirring in our hearts, we may ask…  What is this weight I feel?  I thought I moved on from that?  In the past I have said the words, “I forgive you”, when in fact my heart was far from forgiveness.

My way of forgiving was equal to offering a kind smile and a promise to never bring up the offense again.

However, just because I never spoke of it again, did not mean that I was healed from it.  Sweeping the offense under the rug was fruitless.  As a matter of fact, the bitterness made me barren.  

Ignoring my true feelings only postponed my breakthrough and healing.  My blood would boil again and again.  Until I could fully come to terms with it, a part of me would remain stuck in the past and unable to move forward and blossom.  

I learned that I could not forgive unless I do it God’s way.  Determined to not carry forward my bitterness and anxiety, I asked God to help me.

Yes, we are saved and Holy Ghost filled, but the pain of being hurt by someone, especially by someone we dearly love, may take time to heal and recover.

No matter what happened, how it happened, or who’s fault it is, it is God’s will that we forgive.

Why should we forgive others?

I can think of no greater offense than the sins of mankind against God.  Yet in return, God came to earth manifest in the flesh to forgive, suffer, die, and rise again.  The rule of “an eye for an eye” was not applied.  He did not give us what we deserved, but gave us what we needed.

If you were able to supply the need of someone who hurt you, would you?  To answer “yes” is the key to true forgiveness, and freedom, and healing.

No more bitterness.  No more bondage.  No more wrath.

Matthew 18 (AMP)

32Then his master called him and said to him, You contemptible and wicked attendant! I forgave and cancelled all that [great] debt of yours because you begged me to.

33And should you not have had pity and mercy on your fellow attendant, as I had pity and mercy on you?

34And in wrath his master turned him over to the torturers (the jailers), till he should pay all that he owed.

35So also My heavenly Father will deal with every one of you if you do not freely forgive your brother from your heart his offenses.

Forgiving those who tried to destroy me, set my soul free.  It took time to learn this, but the forgiveness was more for me than for them.  Now my life is fruitful and abounding in peace, joy, and love, in the Holy Ghost.

Comment and share your views.

{Forgiveness Is a Choice: A Step-By-Step Process for Resolving Anger and Restoring Hope (Apa Lifetools)}

{Do Yourself a Favor…Forgive: Learn How to Take Control of Your Life Through Forgiveness by Joyce Meyer}

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=lovandgrame0b-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=0446392596&ref=tf_til&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=001EEF&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrhttp://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=lovandgrame0b-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=1482091615&ref=tf_til&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=001EEF&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

Leave a Reply

