single-CHRISTIAN

Being a single Christian has its shadows. There is the shadow of loneliness, feeling unwanted, and the dark shadow of not knowing when God will send that special someone into your life. The perils of Christian singleness seem to cast gloom on our days. Yet, there is a light in our life that we must not allow to be hid. Living a victorious Christian single life means changing our point of view.

Old View

SINGLE christian

New View

single CHRISTIAN 

The value of who we are as Christians greatly outweighs our relationship status. Our whole identity should not be defined by the issues of this world. I lived for many years as a single Christian woman and a short time as a married Christian woman, and some things have not changed. I am still a Christian and I still need God in my life. We have the promise to inherit the kingdom of God, and to have access to our Heavenly Father.

 

For through him we both have access by one Spirit unto the Father. Now therefore ye are no more strangers and foreigners, but fellowcitizens with the saints, and of the household of God; And are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ himself being the chief corner stone; -Ephesians 2:18-20 (KJV)

 

The place that we hold as Christians must dismiss the stereotypical mindset of the SINGLE christian.  The dark fears of being alone, the pressure of falling into sexual sins, or the anxiety of waiting, must be dispelled by the light of our true identity. We have access to the great “I Am”, the Heavenly Father. We have access to the comforter, the Holy Ghost. We have access to righteousness by the blood of Jesus. 

We were once strangers and without hope. During my single CHRISTIAN days I had to remember how God blessed me and and gave His life for me. There is no greater love. I was determined not to let my single life overshadow my CHRISTIAN life. 

I gain more from being a CHRISTIAN than I do from anything else. 

It is wrong to complain about the years I was unmarried. There are many singles that do not have a relationship with God. When they marry, they find that the love of their spouse is not enough to deal with all the issues of life. But we know as Christians the fulfilling love and unspeakable joy that links with communion with God. Everything of this world will pass away, including wealth, fame, and yes, even marriage. 

Hold on to the most precious treasure you will ever have. Be proud of being a single CHRISTIAN. Never hold your head down in shame, but be proud that you are all God desires for you to be. Our identity is multifaceted. You are blessed, you are the apple of God’s eye, you are chosen, you are a royal priesthood, you are victorious, you are overcomers, and so much more is the amazing makeup of who you are. 

Do not let your “single” life darken the light of your “CHRISTIAN” life. 

 

Your fellow heir in Christ,

Candra

4 thoughts on “single-CHRISTIAN

  1. I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and I want you to know that it is unlike any other single Christian blog out there. Your words are genuine and Spirit led. It resonates with me. Moreso, I respect your journey as an unmarried Christian. You know what it feels like to wait and your depiction of it is so accurate. Thank you.

    With that said, can you answer this for me: Yes, I have access to The Lord as an unmarried woman, but so do married women. Now what? I’m starting to get so frustrated with the “you have more time to serve The Lord while single” arguement. Truth is, we can serve Him in any state- married or unmarried. Honestly, I don’t know what Im tying to ask. Perhaps I’m just venting.

    1. Thank you so much for reading the blog and for your kind words!

      I think perhaps I understand what you are asking. There is truth to the idea that singles have more time to devote to serving the Lord. When you get married a lot of your time that was solely yours to do with what you desired, must be shared and obligated for your husband. Who you are and what you do will considerably change when you become a wife. Now I see why people say use your time while you are single to do all you can for God. However, I do agree with you that the “quality” of our service to the Lord does not have to change. So when you’re married you will continue to serve the Lord. The time frame and structure of your service will be different, but what you do for Christ will still be with all of your heart, mind, and soul.

      So possibly the key question is, “Now what?”. I think the answer is as unique and special as you are. We as Christians are chosen vessels to be used by Him for His glory as it pleases Him. I’ve noticed in the lives of other single Christians that not all life paths are the same. God is calling some single Christians to work as missionaries, some are writing books, some are volunteering and helping those with greater needs than their own. Perhaps it can be summed up to say that we must find our purpose and our passion. While single master the art of prayer, walking in the Spirit, and gratefulness. These things among many will help Christian singles find peace and contentment and mastery of these same things will be much needed for a blessed marriage when the thrill of newness is done.

      God bless you and I look forward to hearing more from you. 🙂

      Candra

  2. P.S. I realize that you’re married now. Congratulations and God bless! In my previous comment I was referring to your pre-marriage state.

  3. Thanks so much for your response, Candra! I value every word of it. Looking back, I think what I was trying to say is that sometimes those who are married seem like they have more (a relationship with Christ AND a husband). I know in my heart that a relationship with Christ is above anything else, but sometimes my mind thinks otherwise. But I digress.

    Peace and blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

