Day 1 – Joy In The Holy Spirit

Welcome to our daily blog series, “Overcoming the Sorrow of Being Single”.

This series will not directly teach you how to get the man of your dreams in thirty days, but who knows what could happen when we grow in faith and the knowledge of God’s Word. Throughout this series we will cover spiritually key steps, to overcoming sorrow.

 

joy in the holy spiritJoy In The Holy Spirit

For the kingdom of God is not meat and drink; but righteousness, and peace, and joy in the Holy Ghost. (Romans 14:17 KJV)

Within the context of this verse we find a key quality of God’s Spirit that helps us overcome.

“…joy in the Holy Ghost.”

Joy is a guaranteed byproduct of the Holy Ghost. It is a supernatural happiness that flourishes regardless of our condition. Joy in the Holy Spirit is a deeply rooted gladness that settles our spirit in times of grief.

Believers receive joy when we become a part of the kingdom of God. Therefore an absence of it could mean that the power of the Holy Spirit is not fully functioning and manifested in our lives.

It is because of the possession and operation of God’s Spirit that Paul found contentment in whatever state he was in. God’s joy is packed with power!

In 1993 I was filled with the Holy Ghost. But later I swayed from communion with Him. As I drifted from the kingdom, I severed the joy I needed to keep me lifted in times of disappointment. The benefits of the Spirit (joy, peace, wisdom, understanding, etc.) cannot be attained by human power.

Once I fell to my knees and sought the kingdom of God again, His Spirit was renewed in me. And with the renewing of His Spirit came the renewing of my joy.  

Today, if your sorrow is too much for you to bear, ask God to renew the power of His Spirit in side of you. He said that He would pour out of His Spirit upon all flesh. Your heavenly Father will give the Holy Spirit to them that ask Him. (Luke 11:13)

Commune with the Holy Ghost of God every day, and let Him reign in your heart. You will find that there is no limit to the joy He can to provide.

Companion Scriptures
Galatians 5:22-23
2 Corinthians 3:17
Acts 2:38
Romans 15:13

 You are an overcomer!!!

[jetpack_subscription_form]

Hosted By
Web Hosting by PowWeb

Filled with the Spirit: Understanding God’s Power in Your Life by Joyce Meyer
Release Your Anointing: Tapping the Power of the Holy Spirit in You by T.D. Jakes

4 thoughts on “Day 1 – Joy In The Holy Spirit

  1. Thank you for writing about singleness. I have been missing that joy lately. It’s not that I have walked away from God or anything; it’s just that I can’t seem to be get myself to where I used to be. I used to have a routine before, read God’s word in the morning and night but now that all feels too structured and controlled. It feels forced and not real, do you know what I mean? How do I get that joy, that excitement back to where I long to spend time with God and not feel like it is so controlled? Currently, I do read the Bible and talk with God but its more random. I don’t have a set time or routine when I actually spend time with God. Any suggestions?

    1. Have you tried stepping out of the box of your routine? We can’t get away from the necessity of prayer and reading God’s Word, but we can commune with God in non traditional ways. Sometimes I combine time with God with other activities I enjoy. I pray while I run on the treadmill. I take my Bible to my favorite restaurant or to my favorite park. If I go the park early enough, I sit by the water, look up to the sky, and talk to God out loud. I also like to read other inspirational books (of course nothing takes the Bible’s place). I personally have to be creative because I’m not a big fan of routine…I know what you mean about that forced feeling.

      Prayer, worship, and Bible study is also more inviting when you can connect with friends. I had brunch with some young ladies on New Years Day. We discussed men, hair, and God for hours… 🙂 I left our fellowship very inspired.

      Is approaching God in more non traditional ways, something that may revive your zeal?

      And lastly, being consistent with fellowship with God is crucial. There may be days where you will have to P.U.S.H. (pray until something happens) The benefits we gain by talking to God is not determined by how we feel.

      Just as with a married couple that has been together for a long time… they must work to keep the love alive and the romance fresh. In order to do so, they must communicate on the good days and the bad. They must go back and remember why they fell in the love in the first place to rekindle their interest. If they are inconsistent with spending time with each other, the relationship suffers. We can’t take for granted how good God’s love feels and how sweet it is to be in His presence.

      Getting that excitement back can be sparked in so many different ways. Don’t be afraid to venture outside the box…just stay connected to Him.

      God bless and thank you for reading!

  2. I’m so glad I found this today. I am part of an online prayer and support group for Christian women. Several of us are dealing with the breakdown and ending of marriages or significant relationships. This will be a great resource to share with the group and for me, personally.

    Blessings,
    Lillian

Leave a Reply

