Overcoming The Sorrow Of Being Single Day 8 – One Will Lift Up His Fellow

Good friends are hard to come by. We’ve all had friends that let us down, told our secrets, and in our time of need, could not be found. I have heard many women say that they don’t have friends, they only have acquaintances.

 one will lift up his fellowTwo are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up! (Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 ESV)

Even though not every friendship stands the test of time, I encourage you to not give up. Pray and seek for at least one good friend in your life. You don’t need an entourage of people, and it may not be the person that you see every day. Just one sincere sister-soldier in the Lord will do.

Have a friend to shop with and dine with. Also, look for a friend that will labor with you in spiritual things.

Jesus is our everything and nothing takes away from that. Still, there is a reason why He gave us fellowship.

No matter who you are, we all need someone that will be our mentor and our confidant. We need someone that will be our intercessor when we can’t form the words to cry out to God.

Conversations with a friend are good. We all need a safe place to release and be exposed, so that we might be strengthened. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow.

Trying to bear the burden of sorrow alone is one of the most difficult things I ever attempted to do. When I wanted to isolate myself from the world, a friend called me and said she cared. She wasn’t calling to be a busy body. She called to be a blessing. Make sure you discern the difference before you entrust someone with the issues of your heart. 😉

She spoke victory into my life when I thought I was a nobody, because no man chose me for marriage. She lifts me up. I lift her up.

The bottom line is we all have our down days, but with a friend we are lifted, and our blessings are doubled.

Study Scriptures
Ecclesiastes 4:9-12
1 Thessalonians 5:11
Proverbs 22:24-27

[jetpack_subscription_form]


The Five Love Languages Singles Edition
Making Great Relationships By Making Great Decisions T.D. Jakes
Conflict Free Living: How to Build Healthy Relationships for Life Joyce Meyer

8 thoughts on “Overcoming The Sorrow Of Being Single Day 8 – One Will Lift Up His Fellow

  1. Friendship is something I struggle with. I’m one of those with acquaintances, but no friends. I don’t do shopping, dining, spa days…it gets pretty lonely and I’m married with kids. It seems, for me, if you didn’t carry your childhood friends over into adulthood then you’re out of luck. I’m praying for a friend. One. I’m not greedy.

    Thank you for your encouragment!

    1. This advice is something that I have heard frequently over the last few years. When I was single it was a blessing to have a friend to lean on. Still after I married, I was advised again to have at least one good friend. And yes, one, can do just fine. If you share your heart with too many people, there is likely to be a security breach. 🙂 Thank you Carrie Ann!

  2. Thank you so much for this. When I go through my “wish list” (since that’s the best word I can think of) a true and honest friend is one of the things I pray for.Like you said, I’ve got acquaintances, but no one I can depend on – or someone that I can be a friend to either. Now things are worse for me since I work with just one other person (my boss) and I don’t have a chance to cultivate friendships at work. Also, I’m an only child so I don’t have siblings to talk to – or not talk to depending on the issue 🙂

    1. It’s was always difficult for me as well finding a true friend. I am also an only child. 🙂 And on top of that I am actually a very quiet person. When I asked God about friendships, He led me to look outside of the box. I have been blessed to have a few good friends and each of them have their niche place in my life. I receive consolation, fellowship, and mentoring from each of them in different areas. One friend is a family member. Another is a social media ministry expert, who I have never met in person. And another friend is an older woman that I’ve only known a few years. You just never know who God will send your way. 🙂

      1. Thanks for your comment. I am shy – not nearly as much as I used to be, but I still need to get comfortable in a situation. I’m still continuing to pray about the friendships. Like Carrie Ann said below, I’m not greedy, I just want one friend.
        Thank you so much for your insight.

  3. Candra I would not be where I am today without community. I’m so thankful to be surrounded by such godly strong women both married and single. Doing life with others is never easy but eternally rewarding. It helps a lot to know there are others who are in the same season as I am and who struggle as I do. Thanks for your continued encouragement and intercession 🙂

  4. I totally understand what everyone has said. Though I’m not the only child, I was blessed with 2 sisters who are 7-8 years older than me. However, I find myself closest to one of them the most. But now that she’s married with kids, we don’t get to spend as much time together. And since I moved couple of hours away from my entire family due to new job, I find it even harder to find good friends. I feel sometimes I’m trying too hard and other times not trying enough. I just need to be patient and not give up. =)

Leave a Reply

